Week of January 15th

“Doubt kills more dreams than failure ever will.”

-Suzy Kassem

Announcements

  • Potential delay or snow day this week: Make sure to check your emails and stay connected so you know what work you’ll still have to complete
  • Seniors in the 10:40 English class: If there is a delay,  YOU WILL STILL GO TO CLASS, be sure to have your questions ready for the Business Advisory Board
  • Graduation Information Night: Thursday, January 18th from 6:30 PM to 7:30PM
  • Join the 1st Annual Women’s Summit on Thursday, January 25th in the Commons from 2:45-4:00 P.M. Celebrate women’s empowerment and a celebration of women! Light refreshments and snacks provide. Email Mrs. Gambino @algambin@ncsu.edu and Nyssa Ndey-Bongo @nndeybo@ncsu.edu if you have any questions.
  • Donate to Note in the Pocket: From Wednesday until the 30th, please donate denim jeans without holes, tears, or stains. There will be a donation box in the lobby.
  • Buy your Prom ticket:
    • Date: Friday, April 6, 2018
      Location: Talley Student Union, NCSU Ballroom
      Time: 7 – 11pm
    • Tickets cost $50 per person
    • If you plan to bring a date from outside of school please contact Natalia Kilpatrick (nmkilpat@ncsu.edu) for a permission form
  • Order Your Yearbook – Don’t forget to purchase this year’s 2017-2018 yearbook before they are all sold out! Right now, yearbooks cost $42.00. Please don’t miss out on this year’s edition! Purchases can be made directly here to Josten’s.

Spotlight STEMMER: Rachel Goldman, Senior

Linda Yager | Senior

Rachel Goldman, we all know her and we all love her. Not only is she a hardworking STEM student taking MA 141 (Calculus), ANT 252 (Cultural Anthropology), and FLS 102 (Spanish II), she also plays a big role in her community.

Through participation in the Health Occupations Students of America Club (HOSA) at STEM lead by Mrs. Gibbons, she found The Dean Thomas Moinet Foundation (DTM). DTM is a non-profit organization that makes charitable donations and provides aid to Duke and UNC Children’s hospitals. Rachel values the community outreach of DTM and by nature is compelled to be at the forefront of volunteerism and alleviation raise money and ultimately to make the lives of parents and children in these hospitals easier.

Aside from her service to her community she also values service to her country. for the past five years, Rachel has been actively apart of the United States Naval Sea Cadet Corps. Starting as a cadet herself, she trained vigorously and put forth great amounts of effort to build character and leadership skills that she portrays every day. She now is the Lead Petty Officer and commands her own unit of cadets to instill the physical and mental values she learned through the program.

Aside from her active role in her community and her commitment to her education, Rachel really loves to unwind by participating in Zumba and exercising through various activities like hiking, basketball, and dancing.  She also likes expressing her creative side through photography and scrapbooking, and above all, spending loads of time with her niece.

Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 6.23.38 PM.png

 

If you would like to nominate you or a friend* for being next weeks Spotlight STEMMER, please contact lmyager@ncsu.edu with the subject line “Spotlight STEMMER” so we can collaborate on an interview time.

*If you nominate your friend, make sure they are aware of their nomination and that they are comfortable being featured in the next edition.



My Bullet Journal Journey: Week One

Linda Yager | Senior

This past week, I began my experience using the bullet journaling system. It has been difficult, I must be honest. I find myself remembering when I get home that I forgot to write in my journal. It was fun setting it up and drawing out my 2018 goals page but I look forward to the time when I naturally open up my journal out of habit to write something down.

IMG_3831.jpeg

On this page, I decided to keep it simple in my introduction to my new year while also adding an element of detail with the connection between the 2 and the 8.

IMG_3832.jpeg

This page allows me to see the whole year with a glance while also allowing the versatility of marking important dates with color coordination. While writing out each day of the year, I got a little carried away in November and wrote all the way up to November 39th, 11 months without making a mistake… it was a little disappointing.

IMG_3842.jpeg

I will use these pages to write down goals that I want to make for myself so I can always come back and regroup my priorities. I also have a space to write down important memories that I make this year so that I don’t forget, almost like a mini diary section.

IMG_3833.jpeg

IMG_3841.jpeg

These pages are similar to the year at a glance page in the beginning but obviously, allow more room for detail. I hope to use this space as a way to mark important deadlines in the future (tests, college apps, etc.)

IMG_3843.jpeg

In this section, I will attempt to keep track of my finances so I can be more aware of what I’m spending. I’ve already fallen back on this goal because this past week I’ve spent money and as you can see, I haven’t made a dent in my organization.
IMG_3844.jpeg

This page was hands down the most fun for me to make. On the left side, I have my favorite quote to start my year. I wanted to remember that it isn’t about my failures or my doubt, it’s about learning from my mistakes and remembering that there isn’t a straight path to my goals. On the right side, I doodled a colorful entrance into my January month. This wasn’t necessary to the journal structure itself, but it was definitely relaxing to focus on the aesthetic for a while.

IMG_3845.jpeg

This is a look into what my day to day looks like. I wanted to keep things simple so there wasn’t a format that I had to maintain that is common within pro-bullet journalists. This is recommended to people who are just starting to bullet journal because it is a less intimidating process and allows for creative growth within a bullet journal.


No birthdays this week 😦

If you have a birthday coming up, please fill out the Submit Your Voice form in the menu bar of the newspaper homepage.


This Day in History

This day, in the year 1919, Prohibition takes effect.

Read more here: http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/prohibition-takes-effect

This day, in the year 1938, Benny Goodman performs jazz at Carnegie Hall

Read more here: http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/benny-goodman-brings-jazz-to-carnegie-hall

 

Leave a comment